Employment Discrimination in Oregon

If you have been the victim of employment discrimination in Oregon, you may be able to pursue an employment discrimination claim against your place of employment. There are many kinds of workplace discrimination, and there are many reasons for discrimination. Some of the more common reasons for discrimination include sex, age, gender identity, race, creed, religion, or other factors. There are federal laws that protect workers across the country, but many states have enacted additional laws to protect workers. Here is a closer look at employment discrimination in Oregon.  

What Kind of Discrimination Laws are in Place in Oregon?

Oregon laws protect individuals from workplace discrimination. It’s illegal to discriminate against someone because of race, national origin, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, religion, physical or mental disability, military status, or marital or family status. The state laws apply to employers who have one or more employees, so everyone is protected by the state laws.

Who is Protected By Federal and State Laws in Oregon?

The federal laws are overseen by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and apply to employers who have 15 or more employees unless it is an age-related complaint and those apply to employers with 20 or more workers. Oregon laws cover all employers who have one or more employees, so it reaches to the smaller employers not covered by federal laws. With both state and federal laws all Oregon employers are covered.

What Employers are Covered by Discrimination Laws in Oregon?

Oregon state workplace discrimination laws in most situations apply to employers who have one or more employees.  Most federal laws apply to employers who have 15 or more workers, but if it involves age, it applies to employers who have 20 or more employees. To file a state complaint, you contact the Board of Labor and Industries (BOLI). For a federal violation, file a claim with the EEOC. If you have an employer, then you are protected by at least some workplace discrimination laws in Oregon.

Which State Agencies Regulate Workplace Harassment Laws in Oregon?

In Oregon, you can file a claim with BOLI. You can go to the BOLI website to determine which claim form to fill out. For more information or help, you can email help@boli.state.or.us or call 971-673-0761. To file a claim with the EEOC, you can visit www.eeoc.gov to find the nearest field office or to start an online claim. You can also call (800) 669-4000 to speak with a representative and to start the claims process. Be sure to have supporting documentation and evidence to get a claim underway for workplace discrimination in Oregon.

How Do I File A Discrimination Claim in Oregon?

If you are ready to file a workplace discrimination claim in Oregon, you should gather supporting evidence and get your claim underway in a timely fashion. There is a statute of limitations for filing such claims. The federal laws allow 180 days from the date of the incident for a claim to be filed, but your time limit is extended to 300 days because there are applicable New York discrimination laws.  If you wait too long and miss the deadline, your claim will be dismissed and you cannot recoup your losses, so be sure to act in a timely manner. When you pursue a workplace discrimination claim, you can also help keep other workers from being subjected to mistreatment and discrimination.

Make sure you research the applicable laws and that you file your claim according to the protocol. Provide copies of supporting documentation and evidence, so you can prove that you suffered the discrimination that you allege.

How Do I Get Help Filing A Discrimination Claim in Oregon?

If you are a victim of workplace discrimination in Oregon, you could benefit from enlisting the help of an experienced employment law attorney. An employment law attorney will be knowledgeable about all the applicable state and federal laws and will be able to determine the best way to proceed with an employment law claim against your place of employment.  

When you meet with the workplace discrimination attorney, be sure to discuss payment plans. Some lawyers will take the case on a contingency basis, but others will require a retainer to be paid upfront and will charge an hourly rate. To share the details of your Oregon workplace discrimination case with an attorney, complete the Free Case Evaluation Form and be sure to share your contact information, so you can get a response from the law practice.

Additional Resources